Edo 2016 Governorship: Godwin Obaseki Emerges APC’s Flag Bearer


The APC Edo 2016 governorship primary election committee headed by Gov Masari of Katsina state has declared Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the primary election held at Samuel Ogbemudia stadium Benin city.

The election which went into the middle of the night through to early hours of this morning, was contested by 12 aspirants.

2,873 delegates from 192 wards of Edo state were accredited for the primary election. Obaseki scored a total of 1618 votes to emerge APC’s flag bearer over his closest rival , Pius Odubu who happens to be current deputy governor, having 471 votes. Here is a breakdown of the results per candidate,

Agbarha Justina 3

Chris Ogiemwonyi 137

Oserheimen Osunbor 10

Godwin Obaseki 1618

Kenneth Imansuangbon 247

Blessing Agbomhere 5

Charles Airhiavbere 11

Fredrick Amadasun 8

Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula 10

Austin Emuan 7

Peter Esele 8


Leave a Reply